Skip to main content

Terminal companies recognised at ILTA 10th Annual Safety Awards

Published by
Tanks and Terminals,

On Tuesday 24 May, ILTA held its 10th Annual ILTA Safety Awards Presentation and Breakfast to honour 19 terminal member companies that achieved outstanding safety performance in 2015. All award recipients were identified from among the companies that participated in ILTA’s Survey of Terminal Member Safety Data for 2015. This data represents information reported on OSHA’s Form 300A, which is prepared annually in accordance with federal regulatory obligations. Nearly 60% of ILTA’s terminal members participated in this year’s survey. This represents the highest level of participation since the recognition programme was founded in 2006. In the first year of the programme, 28 member companies participated and 13 were recognised.

ILTA’s Platinum Safety Award, the liquid terminal industry’s highest safety honour, was presented to two companies for their demonstration of an exemplary safety culture. MIPC received the Platinum Safety Award in the small company category, and CITGO Petroleum Corporation was recognised in the large company category. The size category used for a large company is 200 full time equivalent employees. Companies reporting less than this number are considered within the small company category. This is MIPC’s first time receiving the award, having participated in ILTA’s Annual Safety Survey and Recognition Programme since joining the association in 2013. CITGO has participated since the programme was founded and previously received the ILTA Platinum Award in 2007, 2012 and 2014.

The Safety Excellence Award was presented to 15 terminal companies that achieved a safety record of less than one injury per 100 workers in 2015, with the incident rate for smaller companies with fewer than 100 FTEs averaged over multiple years, depending on the number of employees. The companies are: Arc Terminals Holdings, LLC; Benchmark River and Rail Terminals, LLC; Demaco Terminal Operations, Corp.; Intercontinental Terminals Company LLC; Kinder Morgan Energy Partners; Marathon Petroleum Company; Motiva Enterprises; NuStar Energy, L.P.; Odfjell Terminals; Petro-Diamond Terminal Company; Phillips 66 Company; Sunoco Logistics Partners, L.P.; Tesoro Logistics, L.P.; U.S. Venture, Inc.; and Vecenergy. Marathon Petroleum Company was also presented with the ILTA Five-Year Safety Milestone Award for having achieved and maintained safety excellence every year since 2011.

Two companies earned the ILTA Safety Improvement Award. To receive this award, a company must demonstrate significant, consistent improvement in safety performance over a three year period. The company must show a current total recordable incident rate that is 40% lower than the average of the three prior years. The two companies that received the award are International-Matex Tank Terminals (IMTT) and South Coast Terminals.

Adapted from press release by Rosalie Starling

Read the article online at:

You might also like

ELAFLEX and SGB partner up

ELAFLEX HIBY and SGB have announced that the ELAFLEX HIBY Group has acquired the German supplier and manufacturer of leak detection technology, SGB GmbH.


Embed article link: (copy the HTML code below):